Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I am a student holding a dual citizenship to both Canada and Slovenia. I have lived my entire life in Canada (I have family in both countries) but wish to apply to universities in Europe. I don't quite understand what 'ordinary resident' is, and how that affects me.

So, given my situation, would I be eligible for EU/UK fees or would I be paying the International Student tuition fees?
    • Community Assistant
    • Political Ambassador

Community Assistant
    Political Ambassador
    (Original post by e.andrew)
    I am a student holding a dual citizenship to both Canada and Slovenia. I have lived my entire life in Canada (I have family in both countries) but wish to apply to universities in Europe. I don't quite understand what 'ordinarily resident' is, and how that affects me.

So, given my situation, would I be eligible for EU/UK fees or would I be paying the International Student tuition fees?
    International Student fees most likely as you are not a resident of a European country.

Posted from TSR Mobile

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by wolfmoon88)
    International Student fees most likely as you are not a resident of a European country.

Posted from TSR Mobile
    Universities I have looked at outside of UK do not require one to be an 'ordinary resident' - citizenship is enough. So does this only apply to schools in the UK?
    • Community Assistant
    • Political Ambassador

Community Assistant
    Political Ambassador
    Universities I have looked at outside of UK do not require one to be an 'ordinary resident' - citizenship is enough. So does this only apply to schools in the UK?
    In most if not all cases, UK universities care about residency. For other countries in Europe, I believe residency may apply as well. Canada doesn't care about residency (correct me if I'm wrong) I think but it's an exception.

Posted from TSR Mobile
    • Community Assistant