Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I am battling severe PTSD and I can't cope at Uni, it is far away from home and I have no friends here. I have classmates but they live off campus with family. I am in my second year. I have assignments due soon and I have no idea what I am doing, I understand it and know what to do but I read over my work and none of it makes sense.

1) Is it possible to change University now and go closer to home and live with family? The course is slightly different but I will achieve the same job opportunities. Will this affect my finance?

2) Can I defer my course for a year, how will this affect my student finance? I don't have a job.

3) Can I stay at this University but work from home, via being sent the lectures (maybe face times) until I feel mentally ready to return?

4) I have paid all my rent for this year of study, would I get the remainder back if I were to leave?

Please help.

ReputationRep:
    First of all, is there someone in your department you can talk to and can give you advice on what to do?

1) If you want to move to a university closer to home, do you mean you would start the course all over again or transfer? Transferring would depend on the time and if there was space available on the course you wanted to swap too. If you mean restart the course, you may have to pay some of it but I would contact student finance.

2) Deferring the course is something you would have to talk to your university about. If this is something you decide to do, you would need to contact student finance about the change in circumstance as the loan schedule would change.

3) Again, talk to someone from your department. It depends on the course (sometimes it would make sense to attend classes), but most of the lecture slides are available online. However, you wouldn't get the full experience that you are paying for. Perhaps a friend of yours could film the lectures for you?