Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I dont think the topics I am studying are elevant as all history topics take a similar learning style to master them. However, they are as follows: The American West, Warfare Through time, Nazi Germany and Anglo saxons with Norman conquest. When reading these textbooks(i'm doing the American west atm) it takes around 2 hours for all the information of 4 pages to stick in my head. The thing is all of these books combined is like 440 pages and all of the info on every single page has to be memorized. Yes i know that pics take up the pages and the sources are irrelavnt on some of the books but still. How is everyone coping with this? Please help.

ReputationRep:
    Hiya,

I'm also doing The American West and Anglo-Saxon and Norman England. We've just finished covering the Anglo-Saxon and Norman England topic and after the half-term, we'll be moving onto The American West. I don't feel it's necessary to memorise every single bit of information in these textbooks, considering each of the textbooks are around 120 pages long but rather the key points that are mentioned in the specification. But if you still wish to, the way I'd cope with it is by condensing each page into my own notes and bullet-points which I can then make flashcards or mind-maps from. These would also divide the information into clear and concise chunks which make it easier to memorise and allow for you to be tested by a peer or carer.

I hope I've helped, if you have any other questions then feel free to ask!

ReputationRep:
    I've nearly finished American West and my teacher has done revision sheets on the government policies, cattle industry etc...
    If you write down the information and repeat it to your family then it stays in your head really easiy

Hope this helps x

ReputationRep: