Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi,
    Just recently started the GyG competition, and thought that it seemed very interesting. so a little info about myself - i am a year 11 and will be doing my GCSE's this year. I am looking to go to college and then after, go on to study Medicine at University. having an older brother who has just graduated this june and is now a fully qualified doctor is really cool - it gives you someone to follow and look up to. i am studying the core subjects at school as well as triple science, ICT, Psychology, and Hospitality. i am looking to get all Grade 9's and all A*'s in my GCSE's which is my ambition - my brother was in the top 3 students who got the best GCSE results in the entire country in his year.
    so in terms of revision, if any of you guys need help, i can share some of my techniques to help you all. Basically, i don't do pretty revision which is good, if colours and crafty things help you remember info, but for me it just wastes time. I just sit in a quiet room, at a desk, open up my book, concentrate on one thing at a time and write this into my own words several times until i remember all of it. Also, i don't really have revision snacks as i feel as though this can distract you from doing work. i also don't listen to music as it is hard to repeat information with songs on in the background - you guys should definitely get into this habit, or at least try it out as when revising at home, you should try to replicate the conditions and environment in which you will be tested in. simply put, don't listen to music, as no music will be provided in the exam hall, don't eat as there will be no food in the exam hall, and revise at a desk instead of your bed, as there wont be a bed in the exam hall.
    basically, top 3 tips are study hard, past papers, and stay focused on what you want.