Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Other girls don't want to be my friend? (I'm a girl) Watch

I'm in my first year of uni and have been putting in quite a bit of effort into getting to know other people on my course and make friends, however, it doesn't seem to be going anywhere.
    I have a friend who makes friends very easily (we act exactly the same) yet when her new friends meet me, they never initiate conversation or respond alot back when I talk to them.
    I don't understand what makes me unapproachable? Appearance wise i'm small and slim and look after myself (wear makeup, perfume, dress nice). I don't speak weird, infact i'm pretty well spoken. However my friend is very average (at best) looking and has no care for her looks yet everyone is so willing to hang out with her.
    I want to stress again that personality wise we are both the same (very friendly), it's not like she's funnier than me etc. I sound arrogant in this post but I just wanted to state things how they were so provide an accurate context.
    I feel pretty s*it about myself because no one makes an effort with me

ReputationRep:
    Have you tried joining societies? Whilst I was at uni, that was a great way to make new friends.
    Posted on the TSR App. Download from Apple or Google Play

(Original post by Curiouskcat)
    Have you tried joining societies? Whilst I was at uni, that was a great way to make new friends.
    Yes I have but the societies at my uni don't seem very active

ReputationRep:
    Are you trying too hard maybe? Sometimes it shows when people are trying too hard. Personally I think if it seems like someone is trying really hard to be my friend and I can tell it makes them seem a bit weird. Also it might be because she doesn’t make an effort with her appearance that she makes friends easily, maybe it makes her more relatable.

(Original post by Khal Drogo)