Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi guys
    I am a first year student at the University of Nottingham and I am studying economics. I need to start thinking about what careers I would be interested in so I can look into internships, work experience etc. Investment banking seems like a very interesting career choice but I do not know much about it - does anybody have any websites or youtube videos that could teach me about it?
    Thanks!

ReputationRep:
    You need to be applying for Spring Weeks bro

ReputationRep:
    It's ****. Look up videos by Anton Kreil on YouTube, he's ex Goldman trader. Then look up buy side (IB is sell side) and you'll see how much better it is.

ReputationRep:
    I prepared a document on what is investment banking when I was applying to Spring weeks, feel free to read the summary below. Its a bit simple, but its good to start off with.

What is investment banking?

Investment banking (IBD) is responsible for corporate finance and advisory. It is split into two sectors: Products and Industries. The purpose of both IBD sectors is to provide advisory on transactions, M&A and to arrange financing for these transactions.

IBD is split into the following product groups:

M&A

This division deals with the advisory on sale, merger and purchase of companies. The role falls into one of either two buckets: seller representation or buyer representation. (target vs acquirer). One of the main objectives in M&A for the bank is to establish fair value for the companies involved in the transaction. As they have expertise in business valuation, investment banks can also provide arbitrage opportunities for their clients. For example, valuation has shown that market value is less than the actual business worth. The bank may facilitate a merger or acquisition of this target company for its client.