Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

I'm scared to get a phone on contract. Watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Okay, so I've been thinking about getting the iPhone 8+ on contract, but for some reason I'm extremely reluctant to do it. I'm quite new to this whole banking thing and I have a part-time job.

I think the main reason why I'm hesitating to get a contract phone is because firstly, I'm not sure if I'll still have my job between now and 24 months from now! And secondly, paying monthly for something just sounds stressful!

But at the same, I'm extremely desperate for a new phone. I currently have an S4. I'm at college and I literally go somewhere secretive when I want to pull out my phone because firstly, it's an S4. It's ancient, It even turns off at 30% and secondly it's got a cracked screen and it's just gross to look at.

I know you'll probably just say, just save up for one, but I'm 18, and I blow my weekly wage on pretty much the first couple of days and my S4 is literally on the edge of death.

So I just need anyones advice/opinion on whether I should just get one{and what it's like having a phone on contract}, or whether I should just shut up and save up!

Thing is, I know I can afford a contract easily, but it just sounds stressful for some reason. Saving up 800 straight up would take me months!! Theres other things I need to pay for, like paying for food, monthly bus fare{or whatever its called!},driving lessons! And clothes and shoes{I care alot about my appearance haha}, so yeah saving up 800 pounds would be a task!

So yeah, sorry for rambling on, I don't even know if I made sense! But yeah please advise me

ReputationRep:
    Paying monthly doesn't have to be stressful - if you set up a direct debit, the money will be taken automatically so you don't have to worry about late payments.