Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hello!, I will be sitting for ELAT this year, actually in 5 days. And yes, I'am a nervous wreck and I wanted to clear few doubts. So here they are;1. I realised that there are ELAT prep courses available which provides tutoring,workbooks and all kinds of support but I'm an international student and don't really have access to those prep courses. The resources I have are past papers to try out and feedbacks from my English teachers. (I'm an IB student so I do have experience in writing timed essays, literary commentaries and other such).So will it work as a disadvantage that I was not able to attend special coaching for ELAT?2. Also since there are other components that contribute towards getting called for an interview, I wanted to know how much weightage does ELAT carry?3. Any last minutes advices? or prep ideas? Finally some do's and don'ts while writing the essay?
    Thank you!

ReputationRep:
    Hello! Hope you are well. Fellow English applicant here

With regards to the ELAT prep courses I wouldn't worry too much! They are completely unnecessary and quite frankly just a way to make money out of anxious applicants. We English students have been making thoughtful, perceptive comments about literature throughout all our studies - we don't need some fancy course . I think doing past papers are the best way to prepare for the ELAT - it gives you a feel for the timing and the question structure which is always good.