Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    The next person at uni or anywhere else for that matter who mentions my age, or my generation in a derogatory or even joking manner, I will flatten them. It was mildly funny at first, but now I'm in my final year and will be 70 when I'm done, I have put up with so much crap throughout my degree that at this point I feel like jacking it all in.
    I'm quite a tough individual but this last few weeks, I have been reduced to tears at uni by people who should know better. To top it all, I have been mistaken for a cleaner, a lecturer, an observer, and yesterday in Sainsburys there was a massive queue at the checkout and the bloke on the till asked me what I lectured in at the university [I was wearing my lanyard and ID]. I said I was a student and he said, oh, you look old to be a student and I said 'If I was a lecturer, the first thing I would do would be to tell people like you to mind your own ****ing business, and that I don't go around asking people what they do in their lives. Curiosity is one thing but I've just about had it with people now.
    To top it all, I'm having issues at uni to the point where I feel like dropping out now. Seeing my personal tutor today to discuss it.
    Can't speak about the uni issue as it's a professionalism issue but if anyone here can message me re my other question I would be very grateful.

ReputationRep:
    Just laugh, ignore and move on. Works for me when trying to deal with ignorant fools.

ReputationRep:
    While waiting to go in to a calculus lecture, one of the students asked "Can I record your lecture, sir?".

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Seamus123)
    and I said 'If I was a lecturer, the first thing I would do would be to tell people like you to mind your own ****ing business, and that I don't go around asking people what they do in their lives.