Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi I am new to the student room and would like advice on a school related issue.
    Basically I told a teacher I was on antidepressants. This was because I had to provide a reason to the school for why I had to undertake my exams in another room. I was very reluctant to do this because the teacher didn't seem like the type of person who would respond well to that kind of message and it turns out he didn't . He pushed me and pushed me for every detail in a very intimidating and vindictive fashion and even laughed when I told him some aspects of my depression. For example, I told him that I was finding it hard to work because of the medication and he laughed at me telling me how many people are able to work efficiently even on medication.
    Anyway, after I finally got permission to sit my exams in another room I found out something else a couple of days ago.
    I stayed behind after a lesson to ask my teacher whether a school trip was compulsory. She then proceeded to ask me how my medication was going etc. I was surprised as the only person I told was the original teacher and I asked her how she knew. She confirmed it was the original teacher and he had told every teacher because it was a "safeguarding issue".
    I have been crying almost every day since I found out this news as my school isn't the type of school that deals with mental health issues well and now all my teachers know I'm on antidepressants. I'm not upset because I'm shamed that I'm on them but because of the stigma around depression and how my school doesn't recognise these sorts of issues in the same ways as physical illness.