Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

I have no work experience in the field of Computer Science and IT. So I wanted to build a portfolio so that I could sell myself on my personal statement. Now the problem is that I am not that experienced in coding. I currently know HTML5, CSS and a bit of Python. I will be learning JavaScript within the next couple of weeks aswell. So How can I build a portfolio and what should I build? Please help... I have no idea how to get started or what to build. I've never built anything like this before so I will be a beginner.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by e49877)
    Hi,

I have no work experience in the field of Computer Science and IT. So I wanted to build a portfolio so that I could sell myself on my personal statement. Now the problem is that I am not that experienced in coding. I currently know HTML5, CSS and a bit of Python. I will be learning JavaScript within the next couple of weeks aswell. So How can I build a portfolio and what should I build? Please help... I have no idea how to get started or what to build. I've never built anything like this before so I will be a beginner.
    From my experience of the CS application process I don't think a portfolio is required at all. I think the 2 key things they are looking for is a good maths ability and willingness to learn.

I know plenty of people on my course who had never coded before coming.

In terms of doing well in the interview, it would make sense to do a MOOC/online coding course to show your interest in CS and for something to talk about during the interview, but I reckon a whole portfolio is unnecessary. Of course it does always depend on where you are applying, but I think this is true for most CS degree programs.

ReputationRep: