Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi! So I'm a Portuguese student and I'm trying to choose which universities to apply to next year. My two choices were KCL and Liverpool, but I'm having doubts about it. For one, while I would like to be in London for all it has, it might be too expensive. On the other hand, the probability of being accepted there is rather low. I'm certain of Liverpool as an option, but I need a second one. I would like to apply to the best university possible with my grades (which is about Liverpool-grade I guess 😅), but being in a big city, with a lot of life, is just as important. I was told of Sheffield, but I don't really know how good that is. It is ranked like 20 places below Liverpool for physics. I have also heard of York, but it's a small city, perhaps too student-centered. Manchester would be great, but 100% out of my league (still don't get the astonishingly high entry requirements there, I guess fok Brian Cox?). Queen Mary and Royal Holloway were an option until I found out they're in the middle of nowhere. So I'm confused! Since I don't live in the UK, it's not easy to arrange a trip to any of the cities. What do I do?

ReputationRep:
    Imperial offers a course in theoretical physics and has a great reputation for sciences. It is also in London. What are your predicted/achieved grades?

ReputationRep:
    Leeds may be an option, requirements are AAB and its a lively city, not too expensive

(Also Manchester has high grades because they have excellent facilities and research into physics, it's not just about Cox)

ReputationRep:
    Imperial would be even harder to get into than KCL.