Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I'm a 1st year Mental health nursing student currently on my 1st placement in an acute medical ward at a hospital. I have no care experience prior to beginning my placement. I dread going in to the ward each day as no one speaks to me including my mentor who gives me the impression that she doesn't have time for me (it is an extremely busy ward to be fair) and I'm just wondering if I'm right to be busying myself by helping hand out the meals, do obs, help the HCA's with patients personal care etc. I just feel like I'm standing around like a spare p***k as no one specifically gives me a job to do. I really don't want to fail this placement but I haven't an idea what my mentor wants of me! Any advice would be gratefully received!

ReputationRep:
    The very first thing you need to do is talk to your mentor and tell them exactly that. They should have sat down with you by now and set clear objectives, so you can let them know what you hope to gain from the placement and they can tell you what they expect from you.

ReputationRep:
    You should have created some goals and objectives with your mentor on starting the placement, this can be really helpful.
    As a first placement and in a medical ward I'd suggest getting hands on with fundamental care; personal care, obs, eating and drinking support, Mobility support or even just chatting to patients.