Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi im currently studying for GCSE chemistry edexcel 9-1
    My specification says that an ion:An ion is an atom or group of arms with a positive or negative charge
    But my revision guide question on the meaning of an ion for two mark says: An ion is a charged particles formed when an atom or group of atoms loses or gains electrons
    Which should i use

ReputationRep:
    ion know

ReputationRep:
    Either should work but to be on the safer side go with your spec. If in doubt ask your teacher. I personally use the second but I did OCR GCSE and AQA A Level so your spec might want it different.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by HN786)
    My specification says that an ion:An ion is an atom or group of arms with a positive or negative charge
    I hope is doesn't say "arms".

They both mean the same thing. I prefer the second one, as it includes more information. But I'd go with the specification definition. Always go with the spec.

ReputationRep:
    The one from your revision guide.

ReputationRep:
    You could use either one. I assume your revision guide is the same specification anyway so it won’t really matter.
    Posted on the TSR App. Download from Apple or Google Play

ReputationRep:
    I think i should say that the practice question in the revision guide was worth 2 marks if that helps anything

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by TheGoodPharaoh)
    ion know
    Beat me to it

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Pigster)
    I hope is doesn't say "arms".

They both mean the same thing. I prefer the second one, as it includes more information. But I'd go with the specification definition. Always go with the spec.
    Yeah I'm really not sure some people saying do both some revision guide some spec so I just don't know

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by chanel_666)
    Beat me to it
    You were so close only 4 hours late!!!!

ReputationRep: