Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Is it better to be at a university that suits your personality or career prospects? Watch

I am currently on a year out of university due to mental health issues (depression, anxiety and social anxiety/agoraphobia + perfectionism yay.) I am definitely going back next year, but i am unsure whether to go back to the university i was at last year (The University of Edinburgh) or go to back into first year at a more local university with a small campus and more of a community feel (which is not quite as prestigious.) I studied Psychology last year, and i would like to continue studying that as it really interests me and i know i want a job where i can help people somewhat when i leave university (working in marketing or being a therapist for example.) I am quite a quiet person, with a hard working nature and i can feel easily overwhelmed. Being in the city of Edinburgh was overwhelming to say the least, not so much with the work but with being in the middle of a city. I really like Edinburgh though, and i feel that i may have more career prospects being there than at a smaller campus university. I also quite like the psychology course at Edinburgh too, and i have met some nice people also doing the same subject. The setting of the university is where i dont feel comfortable, and i know that for the next 3 years of my degree i would need to live in a flat in Edinburgh for practicality reasons rather than commute from home, and i don't know how i feel about that. I have now started CBT therapy on the NHS after a 6 month wait, and i am hoping to tackle my social anxiety/agoraphobia and feelings of discomfort in busy places and things related to that. This means that i could possibly feel less apprehensive in Edinburgh next year in terms of my anxiety, and i do have some friends there that know what i have been through in terms of my mental health and are very supportive and nice.