Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

I think i've taken completely the wrong subject at Uni Watch

ReputationRep:
    Ok, so i'll start off with a bit of background:
    I was an average student at college, I took humanites heavy subjects (History, English Lit, Philosophy, Film and Politics AS (the latter because I stayed for a third year) and got mostly Bs and Cs. I have always had a huge passion for History and did well at A-Level but was dissuaded from taking it at Uni by relatives because I would never get a job etc etc. So I really had no plans to go to Uni and at 19 needed to get a 'real' career, so I searched for an apprenticeship in IT, specifically software development as coding intrigued me and it's a real skill. After a gruelling few months of applying everywhere I came to the conclusion that I wasn't gonna get even the most entry level apprenticeship seeing as if you had no IT A-Levels they wanted students who were 16-18 becuase they could pay less. So I worked at various min wage jobs until 21. Seeing as I was going nowhere and all of my freinds were doing well, I started to look into going to uni and trying to enter software development via that route.