Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi guys,

I'm currently in my final year of a Biomedical Science degree and intend to study post grad medicine here in the UK (Im fully aware of the process and competition etc).

I've read that it is extremely difficult for a UK doctor to obtain employment in the US, however my wife is American and I was wondering if this helps at all? BTW I intend to be a Psychiatrist if this is useful info.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Cheers
    Stephen
    Posted on the TSR App. Download from Apple or Google Play

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by SteveForfar)
    Hi guys,

I'm currently in my final year of a Biomedical Science degree and intend to study post grad medicine here in the UK (Im fully aware of the process and competition etc).

I've read that it is extremely difficult for a UK doctor to obtain employment in the US, however my wife is American and I was wondering if this helps at all? BTW I intend to be a Psychiatrist if this is useful info.

Cheers
    Stephen
    Ive only heard its hard for US drs to find work in NHS. But i do know drs get payed waaay more in America- so hopefully it works out. Good luck

ReputationRep:
    Remember to take a bulletproof vest

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by SteveForfar)
    Hi guys,

Cheers
    Stephen
    I'm someone who's looking to go back to Canada, so kinda in a similar boat. I would suggest that a specialization such as psychiatry isn't a very popular choice (I mean no disrespect) and therefore has low to none competition, and so I think you'd have a really good chance of coming back. It doesn't matter whether you're American, or your wife's American, because as long as you didn't graduate from an American med school, you'll always be considered an IMG.

ReputationRep:
    This is my understanding based on reading other threads on the topic: