Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi

I'm an international student who wishes to study Chem Eng. and I have a few questions.

Is integrated masters worth it in my career? Is it just a waste of time and money for a chemical engineer? I have seen people saying it is just over-qualification. I don't know what to choose.... Would there be a clear advantage of doing Meng?
    As an international student, cost really matters....

If I choose Beng instead of Meng, can I still change to Meng in university? or vice- versa?

I also want to know if 'A year in industry' (sandwich year) is better than looking for a job straight after graduation bcuz that program adds another year of university and I heard that it is hard to get a place these days

(U of Bath for example)

And my uni choices are
    Imperial
    Manchester
    Bath
    Sheffield
    UCL??? It seems that UCL's chemical engineering is not as good as above unis?

Can you recommend me other unis for chem eng? or should I stick to UCL, just to feel that I get accepted by a prestigious 'London' uni?

because UCL is really expensive compared to others and my parents said no for UCL and Imperial due to cost. So I think applying to UCL is a waste of a uni choice...
    (but I have always wanted to apply Imperial even though I cannot afford it)

and my IB predicted grade is 43 with
    HL math, chem, phy, eng B 7776
    SL Korean, B&M 7,6 and 3 bonus points

Thank you for your help

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by mindol3863)
    Hi

I'm an international student who wishes to study Chem Eng. and I have a few questions.

Is integrated masters worth it in my career? Is it just a waste of time and money for a chemical engineer? I have seen people saying it is just over-qualification. I don't know what to choose.... Would there be a clear advantage of doing Meng?
    As an international student, cost really matters....