Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi!

I'm a French Year 13 student, I'm predicted 20/20 in various English courses for my Baccalauréat and I'll send my UCAS application soon, for an English Language degree. I just wanted to know what my chances were to get into the University of Edinburgh as a EU student. Am I more likely to be accepted because I'm not from the UK? And do they give unconditionnal offers to EU students rather than conditionnal ones because our results are later than the A-Level ones?

P.S. I'm applying for an English Language course at Glasgow, St Andrews, Aberdeen and Dundee as well

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Juliette Tae)
    Hi!

I'm a French Year 13 student, I'm predicted 20/20 in various English courses for my Baccalauréat and I'll send my UCAS application soon, for an English Language degree. I just wanted to know what my chances were to get into the University of Edinburgh as a EU student. Am I more likely to be accepted because I'm not from the UK? And do they give unconditionnal offers to EU students rather than conditionnal ones because our results are later than the A-Level ones?

P.S. I'm applying for an English Language course at Glasgow, St Andrews, Aberdeen and Dundee as well
    To be completely honest, Edinburgh is hard to get into regardless of who you are. They have one of the lowest offer rates in the country (something like 48% iirc) even for Scottish students; I don't think it makes a lot of difference if you're from the EU in that regard. In a few universities you're actually LESS likely to get an offer because you're not from the UK, since you're competing for a place with the locals. I don't know if Edinburgh is like that.

They don't give unconditionals because you're not from the UK. Likely, you'll be given a conditional offer based on your home country's standards, and accepted once your results are sent by your school.