Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi I'm planning studying a course at the open university but I have no idea where to start

Right now i work as a clerical officer but I have no qualifications, to help me climb the.ladder in my company I'd like to get some qualifications behind me I have no gcse so I'm kind of stuck as to where I go

Any help or information is appreciated

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Demented85)
    Hi I'm planning studying a course at the open university but I have no idea where to start

Right now i work as a clerical officer but I have no qualifications, to help me climb the.ladder in my company I'd like to get some qualifications behind me I have no gcse so I'm kind of stuck as to where I go

Hey,

When looking at 'climbing the ladder', have you identified a position in which you wish to attain? By identifying that position, you could look at a person who holds said position and seek to "mimic" their qualifications and experience, enabling you to move towards obtaining a similar position.

An example of this (and i'm speaking generally here) is that you may be a clerical officer working for the CPS. You have looked at the lawyers who work in the office and decide that you want to do that. To be a lawyer in the CPS you would need to have obtained a qualifying law degree, have completed further study such as the Legal Practise Course and shown an interest in criminal law during your study. You may then look to obtain work experience in said environment to bolster your application when the time comes.

If you were able to give some more details perhaps we could offer some more relevant advice

ReputationRep: