Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

I hate university but if i quit i am giving up my dream job. Watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi everyone! Can someone please help me! I'm studying Chinese and Spanish at Heriot Watt University. I really am hating uni life. I hate my classes, the teachers and I'm just not enjoying being here. I skip most of my classes because i cant bare to go to them. My dream job is an interpreter or translator and i think you mostly need a degree to go into translation, right? I absolutely love languages.. Its the only thing i want to do. I just wish i could teach myself them, or perhaps even do online courses or take private tutoring which would perhaps allow me to gain a qualification strong enough that language employers would accept. I really really want to drop out i hate it.. But i feel as if im giving up my whole future as i dont think there is any other way to go into language jobs without a degree? If anyone has any advice or personal stories please share. What could i do to get fluent in languages and become a translator if i drop out of uni?

ReputationRep:
    Have you thought of applying to another university?
    Posted on the TSR App. Download from Apple or Google Play

ReputationRep:
    Try changing to a different university, you could drop out now and reapply again at a different university for next year entry.
    If it is the university life aspect you dislike, then I would recommend a different university.
    • Very Important Poster

(Original post by Emilymcc11)