The Student Room Group

Best type of investment for my time/budget?

I am a university student who, after expenditure, gets around £30 a week to play around with. I think it is better to invest this rather than have it sitting in my bank account. I don't need huge profits or need to be one of those 'Turn your £100 in to £100,000 by using this method!' people, I just want to know what type of trading/investment would be best for my budget. Also please keep in mind that I am a student so I'm not free 9-5 every day - the income would be passive.
Thank you
Reply 1
I'm no financial expert, but I can offer some advice. You can save up that money and invest in a hobby. You shouldn't forget money is made to satisfy you, and there's nothing more satisfying from a productive hobby that can earn you more income. If you like painting, buy materials. If you like photography, buy Photoshop and a camera. Or even making YouTube videos

However, a small course in Forex trading might not hurt too, plus that can give you some preliminaries before you begin to invest in shares.
Reply 2
Original post by Nyimane
I'm no financial expert, but I can offer some advice. You can save up that money and invest in a hobby. You shouldn't forget money is made to satisfy you, and there's nothing more satisfying from a productive hobby that can earn you more income. If you like painting, buy materials. If you like photography, buy Photoshop and a camera. Or even making YouTube videos

However, a small course in Forex trading might not hurt too, plus that can give you some preliminaries before you begin to invest in shares.

i have quite a few hobbies. I love sport and going to the gym but also going out with friends. I wouldn't let this get in the way of my personal life.

Forex does look interesting but from what I've heard, you're more likely to lose money than earn it
Reply 3
What's your investment time frame? 3 years? 5 years?