Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi,
    I am aware that this is the typical 'are my grades good enough?' question but I'm posing it anyway. Avec the addition of some personal background information too.

I went to a state comprehensive school in Northern Ireland. Only 9 subjects at GCSE were offered. In these exams I achieved 6A*s and 3 As.

I obtained full marks (400/400) in my Spanish.
    The 3As were in Maths, Music and Biology. I'm still terribly disappointed with my Biology - an A* was entirely possible but I under-performed on the day.

I'd like to study Modern and Medieval languages at Cambridge, it's my dream, although I fear it's unrealistic considering my GCSE profile. Some candidates in England have 12+ A*s.

I also come from a less affluent background, being in receipt of free-school meals and with neither of my parents studying at university. Although, I'm unsure to what extent this has an impact.

At A-level this year I'm studying Spanish, French, History and English Literature.I excel in these subjects and have a genuine passion for each. To expect 3A*s and an A ,I don't believe is over-ambitious.

I'd dearly appreciate a response. Should I neglect any hopes of getting into Cambridge and save myself of disappointment?

What is the typical academic profile of a successful applicant for Modern and Medieval languages at Cambridge?

Thank you.
    • Section Leader

ReputationRep:
    Section Leader
    (Original post by divisionofjoy)
    Hi,
    I am aware that this is the typical 'are my grades good enough?' question but I'm posing it anyway. Avec the addition of some personal background information too.

I went to a state comprehensive school in Northern Ireland. Only 9 subjects at GCSE were offered. In these exams I achieved 6A*s and 3 As.

I obtained full marks (400/400) in my Spanish.