Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Depression is ruining my life Watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    I am in my last year of uni and have always found it difficult to make friends etc due to social anxiety but at uni I managed to make some amazing friends but my best friend ended our friendship and since then things have just been getting worse. I have tried being more sociable and going out with my housemates but when I do it just really drives home how different I am from them and how hard it is for me to talk to people. They will introduce me to people and I still won't even talk. My housemates meet new people on nights out and I end up just standing there awkwardly. I have had depression for a while but it has always been manageable by me and hasn't been too much of a problem but the last few weeks have been horrible. I have been having thoughts I just don;t want etc. and I don't know what to do.

I think it all stems from the fact i find it hard to talk to people but I just don't know what to do or how to change it. Does anyone have any advice? Thank you

ReputationRep:
    I can relate. I have managed to overcome this by focusing on my career. I have become a career-oriented person and managed to spend my time on internships or attending workshops etc.

I think somewhere down, I still feel lonely, but so much focus on my career has allowed me to look forward to something.

Giving you advice on how to talk to someone or be more open or social is not going to work since it hasn't worked for me. I would suggest you take on a hobby. Read books, or join a uni club. Although this didn't work for, I do think it is the best option.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by michael1010)