Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi

Due to a change in my circumstances, I need to arrange childcare for my two young children whilst I'm at uni.
    I'm currently on a Hons degree with a foundation year, and this is my first year. When I originally applied for finance I didn't apply for childcare grant as I didn't need it then. However now I need to arrange childcare and have some questions I was hoping you could help with:

1. My son is currently in nursery and get 15 hours free early years. I will need to put him in nursery full time from Monday and this will cost £70 a week. If I put him in full time nursery and pay their fees myself, once the childcare grant application is approved, will they backdate the costs I have paid?

2. I am looking to employ a Ofsted registered home childcarer to look after my children after school.
    Technically they will be classed as being "employed" by myself as I will be paying them and stipulating the hours I need them to work.
    I've seen on the CCG1 form it states the following: What kinds of childcare will qualify? As long as your childcare provider is registered with, or approved by, an appropriate body such as OFSTED, you can claim Childcare Grant.
    Will using a home childcarer be eligible for the childcare grant?
    • Official TSR Representative

ReputationRep:
    Hi Star_999,

From 2017 the Westminster Government introduced a new 30 hours free childcare package available to working parents of three to four year old's (some two year old's may also apply). This provision runs alongside the existing 15 hours free package but has different eligibility criteria. Those who meet this eligibility will be able to receive 30 hours free childcare a week from the Government so I would recommend you look into this if you haven't already to see if you would be eligible for that.