Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

When applying to digital marketing jobs, should I put my social media accounts on CV? Watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi everyone

Basically I'm in 3rd year of a digital degree and I am looking to apply for digital content / marketing / media internships. I really love marketing and advertising so thats an area I would love to progress in to.

Would it be a good idea to include my Instagram account username? I've built it to be a travel page and it has 50,000+ followers. Will this help my CV by showing I can build / manage a following? I've also designed and implemented a website, should I include this? It was kind of just a hobby but now wondering if I should tell employers about it ..

Thanks!

ReputationRep:
    Yes ofcourse!
    Remember you're trying to stand out and you're in a fierce competition with other graduates to secure a job! Any hobbies or digital experience you may have is a great look on your CV

ReputationRep:
    Yes definitely, but don't just put the account name and hope they'll look at it (people looking at CVs won't have time to do that). Make sure you explain how you've grown the account and gained more followers, and what skills you've gained from managing it.

ReputationRep:
    Both the Instagram account and website are definitely worth telling employers about. Outline the experience managing them has given you and how it could be applied to a digital marketing role.
    • TSR Group Staff

ReputationRep:
    Absolutely. If you're asking someone to trust in your digital marketing capabilities then demonstrating how you have successfully digitally marketed is a no brainer.

Be prepared to critique your work too, "this went well, this didnt, if I was to do it again I'd do this differently" etc.

It sounds like you're off to a great start, good luck!
    • Official TSR Representative

ReputationRep:
    Hi Faye,