Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Final year at University GYG Watch

ReputationRep:
    Hello everybody!!! My name is Ella and I've decided to take part in Grow Your Grades.

So a little bit about me. I am currently in my final year at Liverpool John Moores Unveristy (LJMU) studying creative writing.
    Spoiler:
    Show

I am originally from Oxford. For my A Levels I studied Geography (D), Drama (B) and Biology (D). I decided to study Equine Science at Warwickshire College but by February 2015 I realised the course wasn’t what I wanted to do. I left and in September 2015 went to LJMU for Creative Writing (quite a change in direction). At first I was worried about going but I have really enjoyed my time in Liverpool.

So now I am in my final year. Currently, I have not quite decided what I am going to do after University. I think I will do a masters but will possibly take a year out to decide what to study. My overall aim is to graduate with a 2.1

Why I want to do this:
    Spoiler:
    Show

I am hoping this will keep me motivated throughout my final year. What I find most difficult with my course is the lack of contact hours. I am only in 6 hours a week currently. However with my course it can’t really be taught and for every hour in a lecture, we are supposed to spend 3 extra outside. In total I should be doing around 18 hours a week, at the moment I’m only averaging around 11. So it’s up to me to put the effort in and make the most of my time.

What I'm going to do:
    Spoiler:
    Show

I am planning on just taking it a week at a time. I often find when my goals are too big I struggle to achieve them and feel pressured and stressed when I don’t.