Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi, I'm in Year 12 and I was thinking about applying to study MFL at university, more specifically German. However, my school no longer offers it as an A-Level (starting from my year) so there was no option for me to study this. Also, I found this out too late - I couldn't apply for another sixth form college as the deadlines had all passed. I studied it at GCSE however, and ended up 1 UMS off an A* due to some bad luck (everyone's speaking tests were moderated down 7-9 UMS). My other subjects are Maths, Physics, Biology and Chemistry. Thank you!

ReputationRep:
    For the chance to progress on to do German in university, it probably would’ve been beneficial to take up some sort of a language for A level as a relevant subject, even though it’s not your preferred subject. As you didn’t take a language into further studies it’ll probably be a lot harder to get into your desired course, so perhaps try looking for one around your A Level choices. Hope this helps!
    Posted on the TSR App. Download from Apple or Google Play

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by NukaCola)
    Hi, I'm in Year 12 and I was thinking about applying to study MFL at university, more specifically German. However, my school no longer offers it as an A-Level (starting from my year) so there was no option for me to study this. Also, I found this out too late - I couldn't apply for another sixth form college as the deadlines had all passed. I studied it at GCSE however, and ended up 1 UMS off an A* due to some bad luck (everyone's speaking tests were moderated down 7-9 UMS). My other subjects are Maths, Physics, Biology and Chemistry. Thank you!
    i recommed dropping one of your subjects and doing german at home and then getting certified for it by the goethe institute B2 should be enough

ReputationRep: