The Student Room Group

GYG: Time to Pull out All the Stops

Introduction

Hi, I'm a 1st-year undergrad studying composition at Royal College of Music. By TSR's standards, I'm a complete idiot achieving ABE in Music, Maths and Further Maths respectively. I know I was capable of better grades but an unconditional offer in December left me apathetic towards studying and revision. However, I'm now in my element and am aiming high and I plan on getting a 1st in my degree. It will be a challenge but I believe I'm capable of it if I work hard and hopefully, this blog will help me stay motivated - something I've struggled with in the past.

This blog will most likely be comprised of short, hopefully daily, updates. As well as tracking my progress, the blog will hopefully give readers some insight into what its like to study at a music conservatoire. Also if anyone's interested I will do a post on the audition/interview process as it's quite different to other subjects.

Random Tip

Are you not sure what time you should go to bed so that you wake up feeling rested when your alarm goes off? Are you heading off to bed wondering when's the best time to get up? Use sleepyti.me today for the cheap, cheap price of free! :excited:
"Sleepyti.me works by counting backwards in sleep cycles. Waking up in the middle of a sleep cycle leaves you feeling tired and groggy, but waking up in between cycles wakes you up feeling refreshed and alert!"

Goals for the Year

PRIMARY GOALS
Improve my compositions and find my compositional style
Achieve great grades for each module (70% or higher)

SECONDARY GOALS