Turn on thread page Beta

Advice for entering Philosophy graduate programs from a different BA discipline watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    * calling on advice from philosophy graduate students! * please help <3

So I’m a graduate of Fine Art in fact, graduated from Chelsea College of Arts in 2015 with a high 1st and top marks in my thesis which was a hybrid of critical theory/ media theory with a fair bit of philosophy even though I wasn’t particularly aware of or reading a great deal of philosophy at the time. I was always a bit of a black sheep at art school to say the least and should really have gone into academia from the beginning. My grades at A level were A*AA in art, physics and maths respectively. Anyway, since graduating I’ve now since decided that I want to go back into academia proper, and study Philosophy.
    The question is, will I be a strong enough candidate for Philosophy graduate programs or will my lack of a properly rigorous academic BA and a thorough grounding in the history of philosophy make it very difficult for me to keep up pace if I enter at graduate level? I am hella competitive and naturally driven and I would ideally want to progress onto a PhD program at a strong university in order to give myself the best kick start into a career in research/ academia.

My main interest areas are philosophy or language, epistemology and moral philosophy, and I’m currently considering the MA (and BA) programs at kings and UCL. My main Q is whether people think I need to go back to BA or whether entry at MA is feasible.

Big long messy question here I’m afraid. ! First time posting on here so would appreciate anyone taking any time to reply to this with any advice you might have! All the very best.

Faron
    Posted on the TSR App. Download from Apple or Google Play
    • Community Assistant

ReputationRep:
    Community Assistant