The Student Room Group

Mature student wants to go into medicine without a levels

Hi guys

Not sure if anyone can help me but I’m a 25 year old student that would like to join the Medicine course in Leicester uni. Only problem is I do not hold any a levels and have only got an nvq level 2 in beauty therapy and a btec in art and design which is not even going to get me through the course and I have decided to have a career change

Can anyone please help me on how I can attain these a levels etc I wanna apply next year but unsure how this is going to be possible as it is now October and I need to get my grades by next year.

Thank you very much

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
I have looked at the foundation year and they would like a levels in chemistry or biology

To be fair, after working since I left college I realised that this was not the path for me. I have always been interested in Medicine, but never had the mindset and determination in order to pursue it until now!
I'd recommend considering an Access to Medicine course in the first instance - it's one year as opposed to two and covers all the relevant material. The only thing is to ensure that the specific Access course you're looking at is acceptable for the medicine courses you intend to apply to - most Medicine courses only accept a limited number of access courses.
As above re. Access course. Plus you will possibly need GCSE English and Maths which you can take alongside Access. Check the entry requirements with Unis before you apply.

You will need to pack in some serious medicine work experience over this summer - and take BMAT and/or UKCAT aptitude tests, Med applications have to be at UCAS by 14 October (for start the following autumn) and you need to be able to talk about this in your Personal Statement.

Lots of info/advice about applying to Medicine here :https://www.thestudentroom.co.uk/wiki/Medicine
Reply 4