Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I am currently studying physics A-Level in the hopes of moving on to study Physics at university next year. I recently sent out the following email to a large number of Russel Group universities (i think it explains my situation well which i why i have copied it here):

-

To whom it may concern,

I have spent the last two years studying A-Level Biology, Chemistry and Economics and have received a B in each of the three subjects. My intention since completing the first (AS) year of these subjects was to complete these subjects at A2 (as I have done) and then fast track an A-Level in Physics to complete the full A-Level during the summer 2018 exams and hence gain entry to study Physics at university in 2018. Along with the three A-Levels I also have a B in A-Level mathematics (completed in 2016). This year I intend to improve my A-Level mathematics grade, as I understand a higher level of skill in mathematics needs to be demonstrated in order show I am capable of studying Physics at undergraduate level, as well as to complete the A-Level in physics. I would love to study Physics next year at your university and would appreciate any insight into if you would consider me, and if so what grades would you require from me in order for me to be a competitive applicant.

Thank you and I look forward to your response.

-

Around half came back saying they would probably give me an offer of AA for Maths and Physics this year, and while only a couple said i wouldn't reach the requirements, most gave rather vague answers saying my best chance would be to maximise my marks. My question is it worth applying to some uni's such as Bristol and Warwick that usually ask for A*AA or am i wasting my 5 choices. I think its worth mentioning i was very disappointed with the grades i achieved last year and was not far off an A for any of them but nonetheless they are my grades.