Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Final year in Degree, no work experience. Where do I stand? Watch

ReputationRep:
    Here’s my situation: I’m in the last year of my Mathematics degree, I have no work experience whatsoever. Admittedly I don’t think I’ve capitalised on finding work opportunities during summer. I don’t really know which job sector to apply for, I mostly enjoy Technology and carry interest in companies like Google and Apple. I am unsure if I want to do a Masters in Mathematics

From what I’ve read, I ought to start applying for graduate jobs in November but I feel like the job titles/descriptions seem more demanding in the sense that I lack the experience and skill to do well. I feel like I can do a part-time job or temporary work but again I am unsure of where to start and what would be appropriate.

I know some of you may say, ‘get a grip’ so I’d also like to know if I’m overthinking things or justified in my concerns.

ReputationRep:
    You should really have used your time at uni to build up contacts and experience to help you find a graduate job. That being said, you do still have time. If you can't find any work experience relevant to the job field you may go into, you could also look at part time work, volunteering and extracurriculars (societies and committees). Whilst not directly relevant, there are skills you will pick up that are transferrable to the job role.

If you are not sure what you want to do, have you tried attending careers fairs or speaking to your careers service. You can get more information and be more confident about what you want to do.

You can start volunteering as a tutor or something and atleast that way you can put on an application you have experienced planned?

ReputationRep: