Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I'm going to a Bristol Uni Open Afternoon on Wednesday for the faculty of Arts, Social sciences and Law.

What should I expect? Also how do these differ from an Open Day (other than being shorter)? Any personal experiences are welcome!

I'm hoping to book an open day when the dates are given out next spring ^_^

Sorry I'm still a noob at this posting thing so have no idea where to put it :'D
    • Community Assistant
    • Political Ambassador

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by FlowerTron)
    I'm going to a Bristol Uni Open Afternoon on Wednesday for the faculty of Arts, Social sciences and Law.

What should I expect? Also how do these differ from an Open Day (other than being shorter)? Any personal experiences are welcome!

I'm hoping to book an open day when the dates are given out next spring ^_^

Sorry I'm still a noob at this posting thing so have no idea where to put it :'D
    Do not worry about it! :hugs: Moved to the University of Bristol forum.

From what I read in the explanation of Open Afternoons on their site, another difference between open days and open afternoons is that you will not be able to visit any academic departments. :console:

I did visit the University of Bristol twice, but neither of them were open days, if I recall correctly. :sad: I can still speak about it in general and hope it helps a bit, though! :ahee:

You might be led around by a student Ambassador. I had a student-led tour and one of them showed me the entire campus (which is so massive it took over an hour to visit everything! :eek4: ). Whether they give you a tour or not, it is always a good idea to ask staff and student Ambassadors for directions and first-hand impressions and advice if you see them. :yep: