Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    So idk what to do with my life I am currently studying btec extended diploma dental technology and I want to study dentistry in uni . Problem is iv always been a chilled out person and never stressed to much about my studies I got mostly Bs and Cs in my GCSES and am most likely gonna get MPP in btec.
    WILL I BE ABLE TO GET INTO ANY UNI AND DO DENTISTRY OR SHALL I JUST GIVE UP
    Everyone I have talked to has told me to be hopefully but I don't want to bs myself into thinking I can if I can't. Anyway sorry for the long post pls help xx

ReputationRep:
    Check unis websites to look at entry requirements? I do not know much about Dentistry but I would imagine they would want pretty good GCSEs plus A-levels rather than BTEC? But then again like I said I don't know much about it and you should defo double check it.

Sorry but I don't think you can do Dentistry, I think 17 - 20 universities do it in the UK and none accept MPP or any BTEC.

ReputationRep:
      I will be as honest with you and try not to sugarcoat this response.
      With your situation right now, it seems unlikely that you'll get into dentistry. First of all, you say that your GCSEs are primarily Bs and Cs. They would not be good enough as the majority of universities require A*/As in GCSEs because of how competitive dentistry is. They will also require As in all the core subjects (English, Maths and Science). Next, not many universities will accept BTEC Extended Diploma as an alternative to A-Levels, so you're in a dilemma here. However, I say many, because some universities do (i.e. Bristol), albeit they require DDD. But, the universities that do accept BTEC Extended Diplomas require a-levels in Biology and Chemistry, which is your next dilemma; they require at least an A in a-level chemistry.