Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I graduated in 2012. What are the biggest challenges that you as students are facing today?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by MopaniMK)
    I graduated in 2012. What are the biggest challenges that you as students are facing today?
    Finances. Hugely.

I’m a student who has to take a year or two off before university because I can’t get enough of a loan to cover my funds whilst at Uni. I’m sure plenty of students at university also struggle financially.
    Posted on the TSR App. Download from Apple or Google Play

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by FloralHybrid)
    Finances. Hugely.

I’m a student who has to take a year or two off before university because I can’t get enough of a loan to cover my funds whilst at Uni. I’m sure plenty of students at university also struggle financially.
    Thanks for sharing this. I am sure it is much harder than when I was there since the tuition fees were increased. How are you planning on building your finances?

ReputationRep:
    Tuition have nothing to do with living costs at uni

ReputationRep:
    Thanks for sharing this. I am sure it is much harder than when I was there since the tuition fees were increased. How are you planning on building your finances?
    Interestingly, it’s not tuition fees that are the issue. It’s the maintenance loan (that covers accommodation, food etc.) that you can only get a certain amount for depending on your parents income.

I’ll be taking a gap year or two and working full time in retail, saving up around 18-20k in order to then have funds at university. Unfortunately it’s my only option! x

ReputationRep:
    Interestingly, it’s not tuition fees that are the issue. It’s the maintenance loan (that covers accommodation, food etc.) that you can only get a certain amount for depending on your parents income.