Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Really tough period in my life Watch

I'm a final year student in London and my parents live almost 300 miles away. Long story short, I'm approaching late twenties as I already dropped from uni before and worked for a bit.

Since mid 2016 my life has been going downhill for one reason or another. My career interest is in finance and I did especially well to land a top placement at an investment bank, which finished just a few months ago. Unfortunately, for one reason or another it did not go to plan and I ended up hating it. I want to go again into banking but as a final year student it is much much tougher and more competitive for the grad roles.

Unfortunately also my dad has a terminal illness and is expected to pass away around December/January, when I have 4 final year exams. Ontop of this I am searching like crazy for a full time job and have sent out 29 applications to banks, consultancies and asset manager - but to very little luck. Had an assessment centre with a top investment bank but didn't quite make that last hurdle despite the feedback saying I did solid. This has really hit me hard and struggling to get over it ontop of the stresses of losing my dad who I can't see much and completing my final year, where I'm far behind where I need to be. At the moment no other applications seem to be coming through which is disappointing and also scary.

I also put myself under considerable pressure as me and only me pays for my University. I'm in about 26k debt total and I put myself under huge pressure to land a top paying job (35-50k) in order to justify living in London and spending 4 years of financial and time investment in University. Walking out into a 20k something job just seems pointless and like a total failure on my part. To give you perspective, I was earning 50k on my placement year.