Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    So I still can’t find work experience , I have tried pharmacy’s, gps, hospitals, NCT and most places say because patient confidentiality, is there anywhere that I can get to do with midwifery. I have tried nct but they haven’t gotten back to me, I have also tried antenatal groups.
    • Community Assistant

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Meglimb)
    So I still can’t find work experience , I have tried pharmacy’s, gps, hospitals, NCT and most places say because patient confidentiality, is there anywhere that I can get to do with midwifery. I have tried nct but they haven’t gotten back to me, I have also tried antenatal groups.
    Hi, possibly breastfeeding support groups or mother & baby groups, otherwise worth looking at care homes, hospices or St. John ambulance.
    I am an adult nursing student & used to volunteer in the emergency department of my local hospital, so hospitals do take volunteers or take people for work experience, so if you can travel further afield it's worth seeing if you can find a work experience or shadowing day.
    It's okay if you can't get direct midwifery experience, you can just relate the experience you have gained to midwifery.
    I hope this helps.

ReputationRep:
    Some hospitals let you do volunteering- although my local one didn't offer volunteering or work experience unless it was a placement.
    I'd say if you can't get direct experience which a lot of people can't, doing stuff that you can show has helped you develop on midwifery skills (care, compassion, communication etc) which you can discuss at interview/ personal statement is good.