Turn on thread page Beta

Think I got hired for an ulterior motive, should I quit? watch

I graduated with a 2:2 over 5 years ago and secured my first job 2 months ago. I had no references and performed poorly at the interview yet got an email offering me the job the next day. I thought this was great so eagerly took the job. It's 9-5 monday to friday with very few holidays.

However, I don't really do much day to day. I don't understand why it's a full time job and why I'm getting paid. I also don't understand why they would hire me witout references and with a 2:2 and a massive gap in my CV.

I think that I have been given this job so that my house is empty during the day and they can bug it then collect the data while they know I am at work with no chance of coming home and catching them in the act. My work colleagues seem friendly but I don't discount them working against me as it could be an act to keep me in the job.

I don't really have good qualifcations and I'm shy and awkward at interviews so don't think I could get another job easily but with that in mind should I quit mine so I can thwart their plans or try to keep it up even though they're sneaking into my house every day?
    • Community Assistant

ReputationRep:
    Community Assistant
    You sound quite paranoid, do yo have any evidence to say they have ulterior motives? I'm sure they just wanted to give you a chance
    • Section Leader

ReputationRep:
    Section Leader
    (Original post by Anonymous)
    I graduated with a 2:2 over 5 years ago and secured my first job 2 months ago. I had no references and performed poorly at the interview yet got an email offering me the job the next day. I thought this was great so eagerly took the job. It's 9-5 monday to friday with very few holidays.