Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hey all,

so I'm currently studying physics and have been offered the opportunity to take a year abroad in america/canada for my 3rd year.

I was the top student in my year, and had an overall mark of 85%. Because of this the course director suggested that I put in an application to do my year abroad at Caltech.

Now, I am actually super insecure about my ability to perform well. Getting that 85 was not a walk in the park for me, I put in over 12 hours a day of solid work the month before my finals, and throughout the year I was also putting in a lot of effort to get the grade.

From what everyone says, and what people in older years who went to Caltech say, it's unbelievably difficult.

Going to Caltech and getting a first while im there would be a dream come true for me, but I just dont know if I should even apply there. What if I fail? What if it proves just beyond my level and I just end up stuck there for the year failing day after day while im surrounded by geniuses?

So I just want some honest advice, no sugar coating and no softening the blow. Is there any point in me applying to Caltech, or should I just use that application elsewhere?

(to put it into context, I did an average of 15hrs work a week throughout my first year, and spent 12hrs a day in the library for the month before my exams to get the grade I did)

Thanks

ReputationRep:
    What you are experiencing is called imposter syndrome. Virtually everybody in academia suffers from it at some point: it is absolutely normal. I think that spending a year at Caltech would be an amazing opportunity for you, and if you take it, do it in the knowledge that you totally deserved your high grades and you have earned that place. My only concern would be whether the amount of effort that you putting into your studies is harmful to your mental health. Don't forget to take care of yourself.
    • Official TSR Representative