Turn on thread page Beta

Surviving first year of medical school watch

ReputationRep:

Welcome one and all to this year's GYG
    (last year's GYG)

A little about me:
    I am a first-year medical student at QUB. If you have any questions about being a medical student or life in Belfast, hmu and I'll be glad to help.

University is unbelievably different to being in school, so my goals will be quite different to what they used to be for my A Levels. GYG is more than a study technique for me, it has become a way for me to document my student years, so expect some reflection and some ranting.

A key challenge for me will be to maintain a work/life balance so my goals will likely stretch beyond the academic.

The way I'm thinking of working this is setting myself goals for the day/week, and then changing their colour as the goals are completed. Then maybe I'll write a paragraph about my progress if I feel up to it. Just gonna wing this so if its a bit messy, bare with me.

Past academics:
    Spoiler:
    Show

A levels:
    Biology - A*
    Psychology - A*
    Chemistry - A

GCSEs:
    8A* 2A

ReputationRep:
    Long term goals
    PODT:
    Make notes on all of the lectures so far

Microanatomy:
    Make notes on all lectures so far

Gross Anatomy:
    Use flashcards to learn all of the upper limb

Personal and Professional development:
    Do all the IHI modules

Statistics:
    Finish group project.

Ethics:

Physiology:

ReputationRep:
    I want to study medicine at Cambridge in the future so this will help me get an insight of a first year medical student! Loving it so far!

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by A.N123)
    I want to study medicine at Cambridge in the future so this will help me get an insight of a first year medical student! Loving it so far!
    Thank you! any questions, feel free to ask

ReputationRep:
    Np! What did you do for your work experience? Im in yr 10 and wanted some ideas

ReputationRep:
    Hello!