Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

I'm so so embarrassed of my academic CV... Watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hi guys

My story is, I'm a undergraduate major in Science and I'm looking for a postgraduate study position. So, I sent emails to a couple potential supervisors and I got a couple responses. Then, we discussed a bit and so on.

One of the supervisors asked for my CV and ask how much research experience I had. Here is what my CV looks like:

Education
    A level (xxx School, Year 20xx- 20xx)
    xxx Subject - Grade
    xxx Subject - Grade
    xxx Subject - Grade

Diploma major in xxx (xxx College, Year 20xx- 20xx)
    Classification - xxx

BSc (Hon) major in xxx (University of xxx, Year 20xx-20xx)
    Classification - xxx

Working Experience
    Laboratory technician in xxx laboratory (Period 20xx-20xx)
    Laboratory technician in xxx Hospital (Period 20xx-20xx)

That's it. Therefore, you can see that my CV is less than a page. I didn't think too much and sent him my CV anyway. At this stage, I am boldly honest and tell him that I don't have much experience (in modelling and statistics). I did one (crappy) fyp during my diploma, one dissertation and one fyp during my BSc. When I looked at my CV, I believed my chance is slim.

For some reasons, that supervisor seems willing to proceed forward. He requested another CV and a research statement, in which both follow university's “admission standard”. I can handle the statement, but the CV needs to be TWO PAGES long!!! I can’t imagine my CV to be 2 pages long.