Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

PhD confusion! Is a career in academia possible? Watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi all,

My dream job is a career in academia, I want to be a lecturer in Law at a University, however, I currently don't hold a PhD and don't know how to go about doing this.

I am currently studying for my LLM (averaging B+ grades so looking to graduate with a merit) and have just secured a maternity cover role as a law lecturer in a sixth form college.

I do not have the means to self-fund a PhD full time, if I did this I would have to work full time and study part time, is this plausible? I also do not know any of the extra costs associated with studying for a PhD in a law related subject, will I just have to pay the fees to the University or will there be other disbursements that will be costly?

I also want to know how likely it would be that I would be able to secure a lecturer role in a University whilst studying?

Funded PhD's are also an option (should I be lucky enough to get one) but I cannot see myself being able to keep up my current lifestyle on 14k/year. Is it common for funded students to pick up lecturing work at the University they study at? And at that, enough to keep them financially stable?

Sorry for the long post, but for all my googling I cannot seem to find any answers!

Thanks.
    • TSR Support Team
    • Very Important Poster
    • PS Reviewer
    • Clearing and Applications Advisor

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by LisaB2502)
    Hi all,

My dream job is a career in academia, I want to be a lecturer in Law at a University, however, I currently don't hold a PhD and don't know how to go about doing this.

I am currently studying for my LLM (averaging B+ grades so looking to graduate with a merit) and have just secured a maternity cover role as a law lecturer in a sixth form college.