Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Career/Degree choices Watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    I am a student who is currently in the first year of A levels. I have been gifted with very strong mathematical ability, and have an interest in studying engineering at university. However, I have read that engineers are undervalued in the U.K., and I don't want to follow a career path in which I am underpaid and overworked. The alternative for me is to just go down the generic medicine path, which I am also interested in (though not as much) and doctors are highly valued in this country. What advice/alternative suggestions does anyone have?

ReputationRep:
    I don’t know much about engineering but I know that yes doctors in the UK are highly valued but they are also overworked and underpaid with the current NHS crisis.
    Posted on the TSR App. Download from Apple or Google Play
    • TSR Community Team
    • Clearing and Applications Advisor

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Billy_\1100)
    I am a student who is currently in the first year of A levels. I have been gifted with very strong mathematical ability, and have an interest in studying engineering at university. However, I have read that engineers are undervalued in the U.K., and I don't want to follow a career path in which I am underpaid and overworked. The alternative for me is to just go down the generic medicine path, which I am also interested in (though not as much) and doctors are highly valued in this country. What advice/alternative suggestions does anyone have?
    Just tagging in Sheffield Hallam University

(Original post by University Centre Hastings)
    x
    US;mso-bidi-l���*
    • Official TSR Representative

ReputationRep:
    Hi there,

The first question I wanted to ask you was where you got your information about engineers?