Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

No idea what career path I want to go down. Can somebody set me off? Watch

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Prabay)
    Hey, I'm 16 and live in the United Kingdom. I am studying economics, history and geography and in one years time I will need to pick a university and degree to attend. Do I even want to attend university? I honestly don't know, my work ethic is hardly world class.

I am an Irish citizen and so have the ability to study in the European Union and this could be a good idea as tuition fees are, generally, much lower on the continent and it's a good opportunity to experience a different way of living. I live in a very deprived part of the United Kingdom and to be frank - I'm sick of the country.

Building on the prior point - I'd like to live elsewhere and so any career path I go down must give me the option to move abroad.

The thing is - I don't know what career I'd like, degree I'd like or university I could attend and I don't have many interests. I'm consumed by the want to self-improve and yet I can never be bothered to do that so I just pretend I'm doing work or play games. Fun times.

Enough of the self-pity though - I don't have many interests besides economics and politics and even then I'm not sure if I'd want anything to do with these topics when it comes to careers.

I don't really want to be constrained to a desk all day and because of this I considered possible freelance work (on a slightly related point, operating a video camera seems like it could be fun but I don't know about the plausibility of that and I've never tried it). I've also heard of jobs where you can work from home, that sounds pretty decent as it'd give me the opportunity to move around and do work while visiting places and such.