Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hey, I'm currently studying Civil engineering, as a first year student. However I've realised this isn't the route I want to be going in, as I am not great at Physics (Mechanics - Statics), and would prefer to study Mathematics as I hope to get into Machine Learning after Uni.

Is it possible to transfer, in the same Uni or a different one, to second year of Mathematics as I don't want to restart University since I've already taken a gap year. Mind you, I am in Scotland so Uni is 4 years over here and second year for us still wouldn't count towards our degree. But since we are doing Maths for Engineers and Scientists in both semesters, would that be enough to change to a Mathematics degree?
    • TSR Support Team
    • Very Important Poster
    • PS Reviewer
    • Clearing and Applications Advisor

ReputationRep:
    TSR Support Team
    Very Important Poster
    PS Reviewer
    Clearing and Applications Advisor
    (Original post by BasedPerson)
    Hey, I'm currently studying Civil engineering, as a first year student. However I've realised this isn't the route I want to be going in, as I am not great at Physics (Mechanics - Statics), and would prefer to study Mathematics as I hope to get into Machine Learning after Uni.

Is it possible to transfer, in the same Uni or a different one, to second year of Mathematics as I don't want to restart University since I've already taken a gap year. Mind you, I am in Scotland so Uni is 4 years over here and second year for us still wouldn't count towards our degree. But since we are doing Maths for Engineers and Scientists in both semesters, would that be enough to change to a Mathematics degree?
    You will have to ask unis. In England you may struggle as the content may not be the same but if you are studying similar things it may be possible. Speak to your tutor first and then to unis you're interested in and go from there.