Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hello,

I'm new here so apologies if I don't get the hang of things right away.

I've decided to take a year out from a really great medical school next year for various reasons, some financial. I'm a mature student with a few degrees already under my belt, and medicine is my retirement career so I'm doing it at a pace that suits me.

The thing is, I'm drawn to teaching, and a lot of extremely well paid summer jobs etc (i.e. with the kids of billionaires and oligarchs) often are helped by having QTS (Qualified Teacher Status). I was thinking of using the year to do a PGSE, or a paid schools direct post which would leave you with QTS. It would mean that I would be in a really good place to teach when I return to med school i.e. on weekends/holidays.

I've also volunteered as a teacher and I really like it. Not as much as I love medicine, but it's a good skill to have and utilises my first degree (English).

The question is - if I'm on an interruption from medical school, would UCAS allow me to apply to a teacher training course like Schools Direct?

Thanks for anyone who can help!
    • Community Assistant
    • Clearing and Applications Advisor

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by postbrexitdayz)
    Hello,

I'm new here so apologies if I don't get the hang of things right away.

I've decided to take a year out from a really great medical school next year for various reasons, some financial. I'm a mature student with a few degrees already under my belt, and medicine is my retirement career so I'm doing it at a pace that suits me.