The Student Room Group

Difficulty making friends?

I am in my first year of university, feeling comfortable with my studies but feel I am missing out on the social life. I do go to societies and talks, but I don't actually know anyone there. At the moment I am feeling a bit low, because it feels like everyone has at least one friend. I did speak to people at the beginning and felt like I had 'friends', but I was the only one making an effort. I always tried to involve them, but they never tried to involve me. Now I've just given up trying. Another thing that makes it difficult is I don't like partying or drinking - feel pretty lonely.
Tough situation there bud :L

All I can really suggest is trying to be a bit more outgoing and starting conversations with people you've never spoken to before at your societies and follow that up by texting them. That should hopefully be the start of a good friendship :biggrin:
Reply 2
I'm in the same situation, the first 1-2 weeks I felt like I had found a group of people, but now everyone kind of just went their way and I'm left alone. I also tried to go to talks & societies, gave my best to be outgoing, but everyone there seemed to already have a group, so my efforts were unsuccessful.
So I'm feeling you, feeling pretty down rn. But I guess it's only been a few weeks and we have to hang in and keep on trying to start conversations - even it that seems really discouraging atm :frown:
Reply 3
It took me 4 whole months to make friends at uni.... so don’t be disheartened by this. I don’t like to go out either so I literally only saw people at lectures.
Original post by Pepper*