Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I'm considering taking english literature, media and geography and maybe biology but I'm terrified of the workload and I'm just about managing now, so instead I would take an extended project, Just wondering if doing it is worth it and if unis or jobs look at it and find it impressive or is it just one that's seen as a doss??

ReputationRep:
    Honestly my EPQ hasn't really made much of a difference. I'm in my first year of uni now and my EPQ took a lot of work and stress. It was a good talking point in uni interviews and my personal statement but my grade didn't matter and I only got a C.
    Posted on the TSR App. Download from Apple or Google Play

ReputationRep:
    It was worth doing for me though because it meant an extra hour and a half sat next to my now-boyfriend each week 😉

ReputationRep:
    I would say that it depends on the university and if you think you can handle the work load - Some uni's entrance requirements are graded (for example you may need a BBB) and so the EPQ wouldn't contribute to much.

If the entrance requirements are based on UCAS points ( for example 120 UCAS points needed) then I would recommend doing it because it contributes - so if you don't do as well in your A Level exams you have the points received from the EPQ to fall back on.

Hope this helps

ReputationRep:
    Hey, I did an EPQ alongside 4 A Levels last year and thought the work load was actually OK. The actual essay wasn't that time consuming for me, rather it was the production log which you must also complete in order to do well in the qualification. I think it can make a difference depending on where you apply; I have a biochem offer from Newcastle and they dropped two grades from AAA to ABB because of my EPQ.