Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

24, Lost in life and not sure about what to do watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

So I'm basically 24 and been unemployed for two months now. Ever since, I have been unemployed life has taken a toll for the worse and I am now really lost in life. When I was younger I wanted to become a software developer and so I went to university to study Computer Science. I graduated like a year ago with a First Class degree and then found employment six months after. However, it was a temporary contract and I worked there for eight months. Now I am struggling and honestly don't know what to do in life. Been applying like crazy and not have any friends. I know I am struggling from depression however I have been fighting it by going to the gym.

People I know are doing well in life

ReputationRep:
    My advice would be to chill out and go see the world for a while. You're young, 24 is no age. You will be working until you are 70. Go enjoy life.

ReputationRep:
    if you do not enjoy working for other people why not set up on your own doing web design etc. ?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by the bear)
    if you do not enjoy working for other people why not set up on your own doing web design etc. ?
    you give him that suggestion but not me ??
    Posted on the TSR App. Download from Apple or Google Play

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by aohwow90)
    My advice would be to chill out and go see the world for a while. You're young, 24 is no age. You will be working until you are 70. Go enjoy life.
    I really wish I could but I can't

I'm the oldest in my family and need to support my parents and siblings. One of my siblings is not so well and needs caring so I am like his carer and plus they rely on me.

The thing is, employers don't seem to value graduates who take a break or go on holiday. I went on holiday for two months last year and literally some employers were like why are there gaps in your CV